Bookish Bitches Who Brunch

Denver is full of amazing places for the avid bibliophile to frequent. So why are there so many writers hanging out at Starbucks? Get creative, expand your horizons, and show the locals some love. Eat, drink, and make merry like a native! My “Bookish Bitches” posts will feature my favorite indie bookstores, cafes, pubs, and coffee shops, to pay homage to the city’s best hangouts for word nerds and grammar geeks.

I have to give a shout out to my favorite coffee-shop of all time, the Greenwood Village Cafe. The owners and staff are simply amazing, and they treat me like family. They also do catering, and I’ve helped out a few times with deliveries and working behind the counter. Such a fun crew.

Most everything here is homemade, from Jan’s delicious freshly baked breads, brownies and cookies to amazing soups and stews. The soundtrack is impeccable- lots of good jams every time I visit. This funky little cafe offers a huge variety of coffee and specialty drinks, teas, smoothies and what I like to call “fizzy lifting drinks,” or Italian sodas.

The sandwiches and wraps are great- my current faves are the Turkey Baudet, the Beef & Brie Sandwich, and the grilled Tye-tanium Wrap, which comes with tasty grilled chicken, smoky bacon, cheese and house-made green chili. Their breakfast sandwiches and burritos are the bomb! Sometimes, Charlie will make biscuits and gravy or French toast, for a Saturday breakfast special. If you see this on the menu, you don’t want to miss it! The atmosphere is fun, laid-back, and funky. It’s a great place to meet friends for coffee, or have a quick casual business lunch in the DTC area.

So many books, so little time…

My favorite feature is the lending library, which allows me to add a few new volumes to their collection once I’ve finished with them. I like to know my banned books are going to a good home! It’s a very versatile collection, to say the least. You can bring in anything to donate, from graphic novels and comics to the classics… but if you want to score some brownie points with the owners, make it a good whodunit. Jan loves murder mysteries and detective novels!

Leave a comment